Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

2020-21 LAND Trust Funds Received:

$277,300

2020-21 TSSA Funds Received:

$311,699

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.  

Gregory Leavitt – Principal
801-826-6000
gregory.leavitt@canyonsdistrict.org 

Brant Thomsen – Parent/Chair
bdthomsen@yahoo.com

R J Graham – Parent/Vice Chair
rjgraham72@gmail.com

Suzanne Riches – Employee/Secretary
suzanne.riches@canyonsdistrict.org 

Nikki Huff – Employee
nicole.huff@canyonsdistrict.org

Jan Hansen – Employee
jan.hansen@canyonsdistrict.org

John Olsen – Employee
john.olsen@canyonsdistrict.org

Juan Perez Del Valle – Employee
juan.perezdelvalle@canyonsdistrict.org

Julie Cluff – Parent
jmc2go@gmail.com

Karen Conder – Parent
karensc4444@gmail.com

Jason Xiaoming Dong – Parent
ddoonngg@gmail.com

Stacey Timmerman – Parent
staceytimmerman@comcast.net

Jeremy Wright – Parent
design.wright@gmail.com

Amir Zaidi – Parent
amir_zaidi@hotmail.com

Karina Denise Park – Parent
karhilpark@gmail.com

Stacey Kratz – Parent
stackratz@gmail.com

2020-2021 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held at Hillcrest High School in the Field House Gallery from 5 – 6 p.m.

September 9, 2020

October 14, 2020

November 11, 2020

December 9, 2020

January 13, 2021

February 10, 2021

March 10, 2021

April 14, 2021

May 12, 2021

Translate »